Sign up for Our E-mail Newsletter

Powered by Constant Contact, email marketing you can trust.

Close Window

99 Power Street
← Back to Past Events

50th Anniversary Hall of Fame

Saturday, 05/06/2006

In honor of its 50th anniversary, the Providence Preservation Society paid tribute to fifty influential people and organizations to preservation in Providence with its 50th Hall of Fame program. Hall of Fame members were honored on Thursday, May 4, 2006, at an awards ceremony and reception at the Rhode Island State House. PPS Board President Mark Van Noppen, PPS Executive Director Jack Gold, 50th Hall of Fame Committee Chair Deming Sherman, and Stephanie Chafee addressed the crowd, which also included family members from the 50th Anniversary Pioneers List. PPS's 50th Anniversary Pioneers List is dedicated to the individuals who, although no longer living, had a major impact on preservation of Rhode Island's capital city and who were instrumental in PPS's founding and flourishing. These were the earliest activists — visionaries in a preservation movement that grew beyond what they could have imagined only five decades ago.

Standing on the steps of the Rotunda at the Rhode Island State House, Hall of Fame members and Pioneer family members were presented with engraved medals from PPS Trustees. The 50th Hall of Fame program was sponsored by Mellon.


Harry Adler
Barbara Barnes
Luigi Bianco
Arria Bilodeau
Peter Borgemeister
Erik Bright
Joseph Caffey
Arnold and Johnnie Chace
Malcolm and Elizabeth Chace
Vincent A. Cianci, Jr.
Sean O. Coffey, Esq.
Cornelis DeBoer
Merlin DeConti
Deborah Dunning
Leslie Gardner
Richard Godfrey
Antonio Guerra
Karen L. Jessup
William Kite
Patricia Moran
Wendy Nicholas
Tina C. Regan
Joan Rich
Clarkson Schoettle
Lucie Searle
Deming and Jane Sherman
Bruce G. Sundlun
John Wall
William D. Warner
Frederick C. Williamson
James R. and Marilyn H. Winoker
Wm McKenzie Woodward
John Yena


The Armory Revival Company
Brown University
Champlin Foundations
College Hill Neighborhood Association
Cornish Associates
Durkee, Brown, Viveiros & Werenfels
Eagle Square Coalition
Elmwood Foundation
Fox Point Citizens Association
Providence Historic District Commission
Providence Journal
Rhode Island Foundation
Rhode Island School of Design
Rhode Island Historical Preservation & Heritage Commission
Stop Wasting Abandoned Property (SWAP)
West Broadway Neighborhood Association


Elizabeth G. “Betty” Allen
Roger Brassard
John Nicholas Brown
Beatrice "Happy" Oenslager Chace
Senator John H. Chafee
Lillian J. Cumming
Antoinette Forrester Downing
Robert E. Freeman
Mary A. Gowdey
Barbara S. Gwynne
Carolyn B. Haffenreffer
Irving B. Haynes, FAIA
Bishop John S. Higgins
William H. Jordy, PhD.
Eleanore B. Monahon
Mary Elizabeth Sharpe
Frances S. Sloan

Help spread the word! Use the ShareThis Service to send a link to this page to any of your existing networks, like Facebook or Twitter!