2022 Award Winners

Downcity Phase II – Recipient of the Commercial Rehabilitation Award

We are delighted to announce our biennial preservation award winners! Our jury from New York City considered amazing preservation and new construction projects that were completed during the pandemic. Please join us in congratulating all the winners. An awards celebration will be held at the Beatrice Hotel on Tuesday, November 15, presented by Paolino Properties and hosted by Cornish AssociatesClick here to learn more.


  • Providence Athenaeum Art Room (251 Benefit Street, College Hill) Interior Restoration Award
  • Lang/Morra Storefront (38 Willow Street, Armory) Neighborhood Charm Award
  • Brown University’s Sharpe House (79-81 Brown Street, College Hill)Preservation through Relocation Award
  • Crossroads Family Housing (14 Properties in West End, Smith Hill, and Silver Lake)Community Housing Preservation Award
  • New Townhouses (112 Hudson Street and 99 Messer Street, Armory) Sensitive Residential Infill Award
  • The Beatrice (90 Westminster Street, Downtown)Adaptive Reuse Award
  • Old State House (150 Benefit Street, College Hill) Conservation Award
  • Downcity Phase II (Trayne Building, 270 Westminster Street, Downtown / Wit Building, 276 Westminster Street, Downtown / Lapham Building, 290 Westminster Street, Downtown) Commercial Rehabilitation Award
  • Rise ‘N Shine (97 Holden Street, Smith Hill) Neighborhood Gem Award
  • Providence Public Library Empire Street Renovation (150 Empire Street, Downtown) Community Design Award
  • Southside Community Land Trust (404 Broad Street, Upper South Providence) Mission-Driven Preservation Award

Click here for full details and images for all our award winners!

Our 2022 Awards Jury from New York City:

Chris Cirillo became the Executive Director/President of Ascendant Neighborhood Development Corporation in July 2012. Since arriving at Ascendant, Chris has expanded the organization’s work to include neighborhood planning, historic preservation, and asset management. Chris helped to establish the Northern Manhattan Collaborative, an alliance of local non-profit housing providers, and Landmark East Harlem, an alliance of local historic preservation advocates. He was also a member of the Steering Committee for the East Harlem Neighborhood Plan. Chris is a graduate of Brown University, where he received a Bachelor of Arts in Urban Studies. He completed his Master of Science in Historic Preservation at Pratt Institute. He now serves as Visiting Assistant Professor in the Historic Preservation and Real Estate Practice programs at Pratt. Chris currently serves on the Boards of Directors of Friends of La Marqueta and the Historic Districts Council.

Sean Khorsandi became Executive Director of LandmarkWest! in August 2017. He joined LW! in 2015 as Advocacy Director after a decade of applying his Bachelor’s (Cooper Union) and Master’s (Yale University) of Architecture degrees in NYC design firms. He brings his knowledge of Building Code, Zoning, and Materials to the field for each LW! scrimmage. If not at a City Agency hearing, he can be found searching the Upper West Side for the perfect bagel. Sean volunteers on the board of The Paul Rudolph Foundation, DOCOMOMO NY/Tri-State and is an advisory board member of the Historic Districts Council.

Jennifer Schork has been with Integrated Conservation Resources-Integrated Conservation Contracting for over a decade and has extensive experience with building materials testing, conservation treatment design and implementation, and design-build project management. A graduate of the Historic Preservation Program at Columbia University, Jennifer has published articles on programs of research for repair materials and on past ICR projects. She is a Professional Associate of the American Institute for Conservation (AIC) and a chair emeritus of the Architectural Specialty Group of AIC, and she currently serves on the Preservation Committee for the Municipal Art Society of New York (MAS).


© 2024 Providence Preservation Society. All rights reserved. Design by J. Hogue at Highchair designhaus, with development & support by Kay Belardinelli.